Because of The New Medium Partner Program, I’m Moving To Substack

And I might not be the only one

Ahmed Besbes
4 min readSep 2, 2023

You can now subscribe to my new Substack newsletter to get exclusive content on Machine Learning, Data Engineering and Programming. It’s free and you’ll get the same content I usually put in Medium behind the paywall. Enjoy.

Some context first

I have been writing on Medium for +3 years and it’s been a blast: I learned a lot, met new people, and generated a complementary revenue stream that was surprisingly motivating. I didn’t believe earning money through technical writing was a thing when I first started.

So it was great.

At least, until things took a hard turn.

In August 2023, Medium announced drastic changes to the Medium Partner Program (or MPP) via which authors get remunerated.

Without going into the details (check this post to learn more), this new program changed the algorithm that computes the earnings:

→ Before August 2023, the algorithm relied on reading time. The more time people spend reading your posts, the more $ you earn.

→ After August 2023, this algorithm put the accent on engagement metrics such as claps, responses, follows, the number of…

--

--

Ahmed Besbes

Medium Top Writer (+2M views) | I write about python and productionizing ML code into scalable apps. Exclusive content here: https://thetechbuffet.substack.com/